Posted in Merch

Product Review: Geek Candles!

I may or may not have a minor candle addiction, and I love shopping with and supporting small businesses, so it’s only appropriate that my first “official” post is on the two geek candles I just bought!  Both candles I’ve had for about two weeks, and are between 1/3-1/2 burnt.

Candle 1: Sherlock’s Study by Frostbeard Studio

I’ve always been a Sherlock Holmes fan, and I’ve wanted to buy this candle for ages.  Let me say, it does not disappoint.  It’s marketed as having a “pipe tobacco, cherrywood, and fresh rain” scent, and I can definitely pick up on the cherrywood and tobacco.  It creates a warm, almost sweet scent that easily fills the room in a way that makes it present, but not overwhelming or suffocating.  I was expecting more of a tobacco scent (since that’s what I always associate with the traditional portrayal of Holmes), so I was pleasantly surprised at the final product.  I’ve had it for maybe two weeks, and it’s already becoming one of my go-to scents.

Frostbeard’s entire line is book and nerd-themed, so I definitely plan on ordering more once I finish burning through this one.

Pros: strong, but not overwhelming scent; clean burn; fast shipping (purchased and at my door in under a week)

Cons: Relatively expensive ($18 for 8oz candle); would like more of a tobacco scent

Sherlock’s Study can be purchased both through Frostbeard’s website (candle, tart, sample pack) or from Frostbeard’s Etsy page (candle, tart, sample pack)

Candle 2: God of Thunder by Fictitious Fragrances (currently unavailable)

Like Sherlock’s Study, I’ve also been eying this candle for a long time.   One of my favorite scents in the world is the world right after it rains, and this candle almost perfectly captures that scent.  It’s described as having a scent composed of  “ozone, rain, and light musk”, and you can easily pick up on each of those elements.  It’s also a very present scent, but it’s in no way overwhelming, just like what you’d expect outside (or if you got the chance to hug Thor himself).

I also want to give major props to Fictitious Fragrances’ customer support.  Etsy sends an email once the shipping label has been printed, and I was concerned when it had been a few days and the shipping status hadn’t changed.  I sent them an email asking if I could do anything from my end to help, and they were very apologetic.  They even threw one of their Klingon Bloodwine chapsticks in as an apology (totally not necessary, but I absolutely love it).

Pros: great, clean scent; comparatively cheap ($13 for 8oz); amazing customer support

Cons: scent isn’t available anymore

Fictitious Fragrances can be purchased through Etsy.


 

Yay! You’ve reached the end of the post!

tumblr_m885n5kWcK1r3651n

If you haven’t seen, we have a Twitter! Check us out on there for updates on posts, interesting geek news, and everything in between!

Also, let us know what you think in the comments! We’re always looking for new ideas on things to write about or feature!

Leave a Reply

